Puerto Rico – Food

So I thought I might go ahead and start a travel blog to write in my free time, since I normally spend it day-dreaming about travel anyways. So my first trip is my spring break spent in Puerto Rico. It was 6 days spent with my 3 best friends and one of the greatest weeks of my life.

FOOD

Okay, so I don’t know how many of you have actually tried authentic Puerto Rican food, but it’s definitely something you should put on your to-do list. Puerto Rican food is ahh-mazing! We tried tostones (fried plantains) mofongo (mashed plantains) clearly plantains were something we agreed with. We also had rice and beans, chicken and empanadas, and we even at one point got to taste fresh conch fish from the captain of our catamaran, thanks Tyrone! Needless to say, the food was wonderful and we may or may not have gained 8 pounds from it.

In addition to the lovely food we ate all week, we also weren’t left thirsty! I always made sure to have a Corona, margarita, or the local beer Medalla to go with our meals. We even tried a few craft beers in San Juan which were delicious. Some of our best days were spent on the beach with pouches of Sangriiia, which I’m not completely sure what it is, but its great and local and a must-try for your visit to Puerto Rico.

Mofongo

Margarita

